Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics) - Page 4 - HomemadeTurbo - DIY Turbo Forum

Go Back  HomemadeTurbo - DIY Turbo Forum > Homemadeturbo > Forced Induction
Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics) >

Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Forced Induction Custom FI Setup Questions

Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Old 10-15-2005, 01:19 PM
  #31  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 675
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

I think this needs a write up because simply it is the easiest damn thing to get frustrated with and go inside and start looking on the internet for an easier way....problem is, there is no easier way.

I have had some bolts so seized that I was truly beginning to wonder if they were going to be able to back out without breaking. After 30 minutes you start to get kinda pissed. But penetrating spray, a good vice and a blow torch are your friend...not to mention patience.
racerex is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 09:47 PM
  #32  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Am I the only idiot who cant free the exhaust housing from the turbine cartridge? This is the 3rd turbo I'm working on and cant get it off. I have tried whacking it a bit but have not tried the sledgehammer or blow torch yet. Any advice?

Thanks
B16Drag is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 09:19 PM
  #33  
1.0 BAR
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 378
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Exactly why I said to go around the inner perimeter of the exhaust housing and outer perimeter of the center cartridge once you get it off, so it won't stick next time. The two pieces are cast iron and if the cast of cast doesn't stick, rust will. Try penetrating oil first, then try giving it a hit or two with a rubber mallet. I alwaus use a vice wherever i can to get it flush, then tap it with a mallet from the exhaust inlet (backside) and try to get it to rotate before hitting it off. If you can rotate it first, it will usually break the rust seal and allow you to take it off by seperating it rther than rotating. The part that gets people is that they start wacking at them right away and once you get one side to move, sometimes the opposite side will stick as it will be slightly off and angled. This is how you destroy/bend turbines.

I've been rebuilding turbos longer than most of you have had your drivers licenses.
sixsick6 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:04 AM
  #34  
0.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 0
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Originally Posted by sixsick6
I've been rebuilding turbos longer than most of you have had your drivers licenses.
thumbup
J-SMITH69 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:09 AM
  #35  
0.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

thank god my tubo is brand new so hopefully everything comes off nicely i cant imagine those suckers rusty and heat-stressed reminds me about the old downpipe bolts
saxxu is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 06:46 PM
  #36  
1.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

i just got done clocking my T3 and it wasn't really that hard.

Spray'd w/ PB Blaster.. wait a day or 2, spray some more..

Didn't even use a vice.. just a 3/4 socket as a hammer.

even clocked the compressor housing w/out a writeup..

Hob684 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 08:36 PM
  #37  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

not all turbos are built the same ----------er! :P
B16Drag is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 03:13 PM
  #38  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,263
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

clocking refers to what "exactly"
SmellySOHC is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 09:34 PM
  #40  
!! UNCONFIRMED EMAIL !!
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,876
Default Re: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Nice work Jeff.
1991civicsi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)


Contact Us Sitemap Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.