Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics) - HomemadeTurbo - DIY Turbo Forum

Go Back  HomemadeTurbo - DIY Turbo Forum > Homemadeturbo > Forced Induction
Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics) >

Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Forced Induction Custom FI Setup Questions

Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Old 11-30-2003, 12:58 AM
  #1  
Administrator
Thread Starter
 
HMT-Admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,991
Default Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Alot of you have asked, "my oil return is pointed up on my setup, how do I rotate the center section?"

So, I thought I might take a few snaps of me rotating this t3 center section I did tonight, yes its easy, but I'll try to give some quick tips.



First we start off with mounting the exhaust housing in a big vise, or somehow support it. Spray the bolts with WD40 or any type of Penetrating lube, I like using Zep45 & Mopar Rust Spray. When I say spray.. I mean just hose the ****** down, who cars, its all going to burn off, and you can clean it later. You need the lube to work its way up the threads of the bolts.



Use the Box end of the wrench on any bolts you can, donít PRY the wrench either, give it a quick "SNAP/Jolt" to break the bolts loose. Start loosing the bolts until about half way, if ANY resistance is felt, start spraying a bunch more lube on the bolt, let it sit... then tighten it back up, then try again. Just work the bolt back and forth. Trust me, its better to do this then breaking these old bolts in this shitty piece of cast iron, nobody likes drilling and tapping out old bolts out.



The Bitch bolt #2, this one is a little tricky, I have a custom wrench modified so the box end can slide in and still get all the way around the bolt. Be sure to always a 1/2in wrench, not a 13mm on these bolts.



Bitch bolt #1 is a toughy, its next to the oil feed port on the center section, you cannot get a box end wrench on this one, and its also very common to strip this bolt out. Get a 1/2 wrench (open end) and gently begin to tap with hammer (counterclockwise) to see if it can break free.



Now that you have them all broke free, start loosening them, you'll notice bitch bolt 1/2 will end up hitting the side of the center section very quick.



So, flip the Turbo around on the vise and gently start tapping on the backside of the compressor housing, these starts to free the center section away from the exhaust housing. Sometimes it takes some pretty good wacks, then go back to your bitch bolts, and keep loosening them.

Simple as that, then you can rotate your housing however you like.

I'll update this later with some more pics on how to rotate the compressor housing, and relocating the Internal Wastegate actuator.

Jeff

HMT-Admin is offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 08:05 AM
  #3  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,285
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Nice write up Jeff. That is a popular question around here, and I think this will help alot of people out who need to do this. I ended up breaking a few bolts in my housing the first time I tried, but the housing was cracked anyway, so I just bought a new one.
tranceminister is offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 08:10 PM
  #4  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,341
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

I'll be waiting for the rotating the compressor housing, I need to do this to my turbo!

Stan
Stan is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:10 PM
  #5  
1.0 BAR
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 529
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

so, any word on when this will be updated jeff?

cua0 is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:42 PM
  #6  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,365
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

where ya been man? Nice to see you back around.. been doing your own mod job too much?
quadnie is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 12:38 AM
  #7  
0.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

any updates on how to relocate the Internal Wastegate actuator?
oxsleeperxo is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 08:35 AM
  #8  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,612
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

to relocate the w/g you'de have to make bracket for it out of metal strips available in the plumbing section at homedepot and drill and cut the strip to make a bracket. then mount the bracket to the compressor housing bolts.
robs99si is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:30 AM
  #9  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,068
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

Originally Posted by oxsleeperxo
any updates on how to relocate the Internal Wastegate actuator?
You just need to use your brain. It isn't difficult, but every situation is different. I made a post awhile back about how I did it, but the pics where hosted on newbieforces, which is down. I still have them at home though and can post em up once I get another host.
PureCRXtasy is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 12:32 AM
  #10  
0.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re:Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)

when you loosen the bolts, do you want to complete remove the bolt off the housing? or you want to only loosen the bolt untill you can spin the center like on how you rotate teh compressor? when you rotate the center section, does it affect the shaft in anyway or affect anything? thanks
oxsleeperxo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Rotating Center Section T3 (reviewing basics w/ pics)


Contact Us Sitemap Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.