Engine Management eCtune , Crome , AFC , FMU , Zdyne , Hondata , EMS , TE , Uberdata Anything to control your fuel, spark needs!

Tuning choices...opinions

Old 05-04-2005, 02:17 PM
  #1  
0.0 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Default Tuning choices...opinions

What up lately I stumbled across this site and have been occupied w/ it for the last few days learning new things and still not done but...heres my scenario:

I have 94' Toyota tercel w/ a SOHC 1.5L...After going through a couple of you guys' set-up I pretty much I assumbe we could get around the same numbers w/ these set-ups cause some got 1.5L SOHC engines but I was given the following items: 1g DSM Talon TD05H 14B, 1g dsm BOV, SMIC, charge pipes...The concern at first was would the 14B be too big, but obviously its not and then it was the 8spi wastgate (little scary). So obviously I cant use Zdyne, Uberdata, etc. for tuning I was thinking about using the 450cc injectors w/ S-AFC would that be suffice enough? Then I remembered there is the JDM Turbocharged toyota starlet from which I could easily get the computer working in my car (So there would be no need for chipping etc. correct?). I think I'm headed in the right direction hear just need a little guidence, should I use the turbo ecu, 450cc injectors, and S-AFC or what? I would prefer to save money so if I could use just 1 or 2 that would be nice.

And my last concern is the wastegate, will it jump past 8psi beacause Im running no cat(straight pipe), I would actually feel better at like 6 or 7psi but doesnt matter too much I just really dont need the boost going over 8 or 9psi. It shouldnt jump past that unless I actually raise it right? Thanks for any input.
Dom13 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:33 PM
  #2  
1.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 457
Default Re: Tuning choices...opinions

Do a search for megasquirt for your engine management. You may have a little boost creep, but you may not. You'll find out when you get your turbo on. You should be fine though unless you are going over 10 psi.
90turbohatch is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:07 PM
  #3  
1.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 369
Default Re: Tuning choices...opinions

I assume you have a 3E-E engine, so any 'E' series is game (5E-FE, 4E-FTE <---turbo, etc...) you should put it the FTE motor to start with and not throw money needlessly at your 12-valve. Unless you are totally serious about it in which case post many pics and ask good questions.
Special FX is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:40 AM
  #4  
0.0 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 2
Default Re: Tuning choices...opinions

Yea its the lame 3E-E engine that every tercel owner despises but I dont want to spent $2000-up for the 4E-FTE turbo engine, and then run a 15sec 1/4 mile...thats lame, the engine are also only 1.3L yea it can hold more boost but I'm not too impressed w/ those numbers I'd rather build my 1.5L SOHC 12V up to handle the boost besides I've spent $0 dollars so far and already have a TD05 14, SMIC, BOV, Charge pipes might as well throw it on my 3E, just gonna add probably some 315cc injectors...the 5E-FE yea it has better breathing but the block is almost identical to my 3E and theres 1 holding 13psi right now so with the right fuel and ignition mines should hold 8psi so why spend the extra money on a swap? The 4E only puts out a 135hp and the 5E 100hp. Not worth the money and hassle. My 3E puts out 82hp, runs a 16sec 1/4 when I put the turbo on I probably be at 140-160hp...And I think a some really good headwork and porting should fix the problem of it being just a 12V. But I think Im gonna really build the motor up and show people what it can really be about, I'm always up for a challenge and taking different paths.
Dom13 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AJxr
Forced Induction
8
06-04-2006 01:06 AM
NotPhilTran
Forced Induction
11
04-28-2004 12:54 PM
91SiSEZC
Hybrid/Tech
11
02-19-2003 11:43 PM
Anton
Forced Induction
2
01-14-2003 07:57 PM
Smokey
Forced Induction
2
12-23-2002 04:46 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tuning choices...opinions


Contact Us - Sitemap - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.