Go Back  HomemadeTurbo - DIY Turbo Forum > Homemadeturbo > Engine Management
think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions? >

think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

Engine Management eCtune , Crome , AFC , FMU , Zdyne , Hondata , EMS , TE , Uberdata Anything to control your fuel, spark needs!

think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

Old 07-20-2005, 11:32 PM
  #1  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 134
Default think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-afc for my fuel management. Opinions on it? I'm not going with a e-manager because it doesn't work with my car. It's going to be on a m50 bmw engine inline-6.

1: Got a few questions, running a low boost system, 5psi, will I need bigger injectors?

2: I hear that the apexi s-afc is ment for fine tuning, and isn't ment for non-factory turbo. they say that with bigger injectors I wont be able to tune down and lean out the injectors enough to get my car running at idle or something. You're thoughts on this? Anyone run this on a non-factory turbo car with way bigger injectors and have no problems with it?

3: What's the difference between I and II? Are they both good?

4: I'm going to need a wideband to tune with this right? Is there any that hooks directly up to the unit?
progress is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:37 PM
  #2  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,802
Default Re: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

is the m50 map based?
FooK is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 11:15 AM
  #3  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 949
Default Re: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

I would think with just about any turbo application, you would need bigger injectors.

What you're talking about doing is commonly refered to as "the afc hack"... Bigger injectors = more fuel. When you tune it, most of your values would be negative values (taking fuel away from the larger injectors).

Not sure the difference between I & II. Maybe some fancy dials and I think II could tune in smaller RPM increments.

WB is needed. There's no benefit that I can think of for having it hook up to the unit.
95RedEX is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 04:08 PM
  #4  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 134
Default Re: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

Originally Posted by ****
is the m50 map based?
MAF based, it also doesn't care about positive boost.

What you're talking about doing is commonly refered to as "the afc hack"... Bigger injectors = more fuel. When you tune it, most of your values would be negative values (taking fuel away from the larger injectors).
why would all of them be negative? People tell me AFC isn't going to be good with big injectors compare to stock because they AFC is ment for fine tuning and wont allow for downing the fuel enough.


Also, do I have to save up for a laptop now?

progress is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 04:11 PM
  #5  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 134
Default Re: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

And the AFC you people talk about and use mostly is the Apexi one right?
thanks for the help guys
progress is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:59 AM
  #6  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 949
Default Re: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

Bigger injectors are going to flow too much fuel. You need to use an AFC to scale it down... I had a Gen 1 V-AFC with 450cc injectors and all my values were in the -30% range.

By your questions though, I'd say you have some more learning to do. A laptop is not required because the AFC is it's own unit and can store all you settings. It has severe drawbacks too (like timing issues)... That's why EVERYONE is moving to chipped ECUs...

Read the fuel management FAQ sticky at the top of this section for all your options. Running the hack is like so 2003.
95RedEX is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:31 AM
  #7  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?

Originally Posted by 95RedEX
II could tune in smaller RPM increments.

NBLKID is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
tman6919
General Discussion
17
02-08-2006 12:59 PM
LCcivicEG
Wanted
2
10-07-2004 03:46 PM
Keehnel1414
Engine Management
0
04-09-2003 08:04 PM
Keehnel1414
Engine Management
4
04-06-2003 01:07 AM
Semnos
Turbo Parts For Sale
2
02-28-2003 06:07 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: think I'm going to go with a Apexi S-AFC, opinions?


Contact Us - Sitemap - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.