Go Back  HomemadeTurbo - DIY Turbo Forum > Homemadeturbo > Engine Management
BRE +PM6+NG60stable look at bottom of thread... how do I? >

BRE +PM6+NG60stable look at bottom of thread... how do I?

Engine Management eCtune , Crome , AFC , FMU , Zdyne , Hondata , EMS , TE , Uberdata Anything to control your fuel, spark needs!

BRE +PM6+NG60stable look at bottom of thread... how do I?

Old 07-24-2006, 09:10 AM
  #1  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Default BRE +PM6+NG60stable look at bottom of thread... how do I?

alright guys heres the setup i have a few questions please bear with me as I am NOOB. b16a, t3 63/60, 450 dsm's, gm 3 bar map sensor, turboedit. Got everything hooked up on the car today. burn my basemap following xenocron's basemap writeup and basemap helper. Start it up. Cranks over and starts fine but will not idle for even 2 seconds and just shuts off unless i keep my fo ot on the pedal. when i press the pedal it's like there is a delay at the injectors for throttle and it spits and stumbles, sputters. afr's on the wideband are in the 10.1 - 12.2 region for anything in vacuum and low rpms, idle portion. Once out of vacuum @ 5000 rpms car revs and doesn't stumble as much. look at my maps and see if you can help me to get this thing to idle because it won't run like this and it's scaring the ---- out of me that im going to blow it up because of the way it's running. can i damage the motor trying to get this to run while it's running while the car is not moving?

This is on turboedit version 2.5.2, ng55 30bar stable. 115% fuel correction, auto fuel multipliers disabled, adjusted for 450cc, fpr 45psi, -.6 linear retard



THe timing belt was done yesterday before startup. cam gears and crank pully set at TDC. how do i do ignition timing at the distributer if the car won't run long enought to get a reading from the timing light.

can i use my vafc with the 3bar to get it at least running?

I really don't know where to go from here.
b16crex is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:41 AM
  #2  
0.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 0
Default Re: b16 turbo won't idle... look at my maps plz

ive never used or tried to use turbo edit, but are the fuel values the same as in crome and uberdata? like, do they stand for milli seconds the injectors are open for? if so, you are very lean.
Oscar is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:50 AM
  #3  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 704
Default Re: b16 turbo won't idle... look at my maps plz

Why aren't you using BRE to run your B16? What ECU are you using?
baker_jeff is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:26 PM
  #4  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Default Re: b16 turbo won't idle... look at my maps plz

its a chipped pm6... can anybody help
b16crex is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 01:05 PM
  #5  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,729
Default Re: b16 turbo won't idle... look at my maps plz

Originally Posted by d112crzy
ive never used or tried to use turbo edit, but are the fuel values the same as in crome and uberdata? like, do they stand for milli seconds the injectors are open for? if so, you are very lean.
They do, but the numbers are different that uber/crome. Their not a tangible thing anyways, so it's really irrelevent.

B16crex, what was your process for creating the basemap?
Minor Threat is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 01:42 PM
  #6  
1.5 BAR
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 704
Default Re: b16 turbo won't idle... look at my maps plz

Originally Posted by b16crex
its a chipped pm6... can anybody help
You're not gonna make use of VTEC?
baker_jeff is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 01:56 PM
  #7  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Default Re: b16 turbo won't idle... look at my maps plz

im using a vafc for vtec activation which is zeroed out also anyways.... to make my basemap I

opened turbo edit 2.5.2 with ng55 30 bin stable rom and opened basemap helper. clicked the pr3 button for what engine i need which brought up the fuel and ign maps. i then copied and pasted those maps into the stable rom in turbo edit. Saved it. recurved for 450cc injectors, along with 115% fuel correction, -.6 linear retard. Basically did xenocrons full basemap writeup step by step.

Now Im looking at the ignition maps for the pr3 bin and comparing them to the others such as a stock pm6, pr4 etc
. In the 700-1100 rpm range 26-11 inHg the ignition timing is alot "higher" then it should be. This is off the pr3 bin. i know i have setup the basemap right, but that ignition timing does not look right to me at all... heres a pic. why would the ign timing be that high, at that low of rpm. These are the values givin in the stock pr3 bin. Should i back down the timing in those cells? IF so how much? Thanks for the help. Im really trying to get this thing idling and running fair.

b16crex is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 06:19 PM
  #8  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,729
Default Re: TE guru's i need help...b16 turbo won't idle/ign... look at my maps plz

If they're the stock values, they're probably good to go.

Maybe try switching to NG60 code and doing a direct export/import with stock code?

I'm having a similar issue with my car, but it's raining right now otherwise I would be out trying to fix it.
Minor Threat is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 07:54 PM
  #9  
1.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingsland, GA
Posts: 539
Default Re: TE guru's i need help...b16 turbo won't idle/ign... look at my maps plz

I had the same problem when I tried to make a basemap for my ZC after the turbo install. I just search for a ZC setup burned that to my chip and the car ran which told me the basemap I made was screwed up. I haven't been able to compare the two so I don't know where I went wrong.

just find someone else's stable setup copy that to make sure it's nothing mechanical like base timing or something.
sakpase is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:30 PM
  #10  
0.5 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Default Re: TE guru's i need help...b16 turbo won't idle/ign... look at my maps plz

alright, ive tried just about everything... ive leaned out the idle portion of the fuel map nearly 45 % and am still getting 10.0 to 12.1 to 1 air fuel ratios at idle. it doesnt matter how much i lean the damn map it still is pig rich. wtf. does anybody have a b16 map close to my setup, seriously!! im about to just take my ecu and slam it on the ------ ground. why can't i get this setup to idle. Look at my ignition map for a stock b16. THere is no way the timing should be that high above idle....
b16crex is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: BRE +PM6+NG60stable look at bottom of thread... how do I?


Contact Us - Sitemap - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.