Fabrication Everything From JBwelded/Fluxcored downpipes to Equal length SS Manifolds.

Welder opinion?

Old 02-12-2009, 03:12 PM
  #1  
0.0 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 0
Default Welder opinion?

Had a guy drop this off for a friend to use for the day, see if he wants to buy it.



Comes with Tweco MIG gun, nearly new Miller TIG torch with flow control on the handle, regulator, HF start box (on top), etc. MIG, stick, AC and DC TIG.

Any opinions on th fair price of the unit? It's a dinosaur but it's supposed to work well.
Tom-Guy is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:20 PM
  #2  
0.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 0
Default Re: Welder opinion?

I think the price would depend on how well it actually works and what you intend on using it for. I guess that is the picture you sent to my phone that I couldn't get.
SpankedYA! is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:24 PM
  #3  
0.0 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 0
Default Re: Welder opinion?

Yup.

I'm assuming it works better on mild and stainless than a Smiley box. Still waiting for the breaker for the compressor to be hijacked so we can test fire it.
Tom-Guy is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:08 PM
  #4  
0.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Okotoks, AB
Posts: 0
Default Re: Welder opinion?

If the 160 is for the amp out put, It will be a little light on the amps for Aluminum AC TIG, and depending on the fab that you do, could be kinda light for the MIG on steel or SS.

Compared to a smiley well, it obviously lasts longer, but on the TIG side I don't know if any of that will be much better. Mig side should be noticeably better feed then anything cdm.

For an old 160amp machine I wouldn't pay more then $250
HomeMadeTurboz is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:14 PM
  #5  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,811
Default Re: Welder opinion?

$200:
No marked outputs.
No way to verrify outputs on the machine itself
Not hot enough to be a useful wire welder for someone with welding xp. It will not do spray, not to what I like even for for short-circuit -180-190amps. Bearly runs hot enough to run a 3/32 6010/6011 electrode. Not hot enough for 3/32 7018 electrodes.
Toysrme is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:38 PM
  #6  
0.0 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 0
Default Re: Welder opinion?

It has marked outputs. Look closely.


The HF start box is junk, have to scratch start. Welds mild well, guess it would do a great job for HMT exhaust and charge pipe if you don't mind a hair of contamination on the electrode. Not a TIG, pass.
Tom-Guy is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:04 PM
  #7  
0.0 BAR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Okotoks, AB
Posts: 0
Default Re: Welder opinion?

The interesting thing about scratch start is, one of the best welders on this site, uses scratch start everyday for sanitary stainless work. It's not a bad thing, just not as convenient.

+1 on the pass with the new info.
HomeMadeTurboz is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:46 PM
  #8  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,811
Default Re: Welder opinion?

no LCD panels show you what you're outputting. the marked values VS what the dials actually do at any age, let alone an OLD machine have little worth.
picture is trash so you can't make out if amps are even marked. you can obviously make out that voltage is not marked.

tigging on machines that are not constant current is a sure fire quick way to trashyness.


i would say itd make someone an okay stick box, but it doesn't have the amps for it.

put it on craigslist in the next town over for $350, let some noob buy it for $300.
Toysrme is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:26 PM
  #9  
0.0 BAR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 0
Default Re: Welder opinion?

Originally Posted by Toysrme
no LCD panels show you what you're outputting. the marked values VS what the dials actually do at any age, let alone an OLD machine have little worth.
picture is trash so you can't make out if amps are even marked. you can obviously make out that voltage is not marked.
Seeing as my background is, if I had to sum it up as any one thing, that of a combo of instrumentation and embedded systems engineer, I'm going to have to burst your bubble. I strongly doubt the veracity of anything you read on a welder LCD. Expect +/-20% variance on anything displayed. However, good equipment will be repeatable, which for an end user is all that matters.
Tom-Guy is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:32 PM
  #10  
3.0 BAR
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,811
Default Re: Welder opinion?

ill take an LCD panel reading the output over mass sprayed paint jobs with numbers with on pot/rheostats that are mass produced to the same varryable & mass screwed into the machine over the same thing without even having any numbers


any day of the week.
Toysrme is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Welder opinion?


Contact Us - Sitemap - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.